GRESHAM CONCEALED CARRY CLASSES
FOR OREGON AND UTAH (21 AND UP)
Due to the volume of requests, we do not take class registrations over the phone.
Please register online.
WHAT TO EXPECT AT OUR CLASSES
Our concealed carry classes are 5.5-hour classes that you only attend once. If you’re worried that it’s going to be all PowerPoint and talking, don’t be. We do go over questions, scenarios, and different approaches, but the classes are also hands-on, allowing you to put what you learn into action. There are about 10 to 20 people per class, so you can trust that you’ll get the personal, one-on-one attention you deserve.
Note: Before you schedule this class, we recommend taking our basic pistol class.
TOPICS WE COVER
- Types of guns (shotguns, rifles, pistols, etc.)
- Gun safety
- How to put rounds in a magazine
- How to put a magazine into a pistol
- How to pull the trigger
- How to use a gun
- Different ways to carry a gun
- Equipment you’ll need
- Oregon laws
- Utah laws
- Federal and state laws
- Situational awareness
- When you’re allowed to protect
- What’s reasonable
- How to clean a gun
- How to safely store a gun
- How to travel with a gun
- How to select a holster
BENEFITS OF GOING THROUGH A CONCEALED CARRY CLASS | GRESHAM, OR
If you have a concealed carry permit, you can take your gun with you from state to state (based on the permit). For instance, Oregon concealed carry licenses are recognized by 11 states, and Utah recognizes 30+ states.
That means that if you have a concealed carry license in Oregon and live in Gresham, you can’t bring your firearm on the Washington side without being licensed in Utah as well. Utah covers Oregon and Washington, so if you get licensed in Utah, you can go to Washington without worry–and bring your firearm with you.
Please look up state laws for carrying in your state to be compliant while traveling with your concealed firearm.
BUY A GUN SOONER
When you get a concealed carry permit, there’s less waiting to buy your gun. That means that you can get the gun you want faster. (In case you didn’t know, Advance Firearm and Training is a Gresham gun dealer and is certified for FFL transfers!)
GET A SECOND FORM OF IDENTIFICATION
Your concealed carry license includes your name, photo, home address, height, weight, and date of birth. It is a valid form of ID that can be used in numerous ways when you need two forms of identification.
WHEN ARE THE CLASSES OFFERED?
We offer Gresham concealed carry classes every other Saturday from 11 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Once a month, we also offer them once during the week so that you can get in then if the weekend doesn’t work for you.
HOW LONG DOES A CONCEALED CARRY CLASS LAST?
As we mentioned above, the class is five and a half hours.
HOW LONG IS A CONCEALED CARRY CLASS CERTIFICATE GOOD FOR?
The certificate is good for one year from the date of the class, and the license is good for 4 years for Oregon and 5 years for Utah.
CAN I GET LICENSED IN OREGON AND UTAH?
We also offer just Utah for those who have their Oregon CHL already.
WHERE DO I GO FOR THE CLASS?
Come to your local Advance Firearm and Training at 1121 NE Division St in Gresham, OR.